Home ›   |   About JASNA ›   |   The JASNA Post ›   |   2017 Essay Contest Winners

2017 Essay Contest Winners

August 14, 2017

2017 Essay Contest Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 JASNA Essay Contest, an annual event open to high school, college/university, and graduate school students worldwide. Over 200 essays were submitted this year on the topic of adapting a Jane Austen novel for stage or film.

The entries were evaluated in two rounds by 39 hard-working judges, and 9 outstanding essays were selected for scholarship awards. The contest winners are listed below, and their essays are posted in the Publications section of our website under Essay Contest Winning Entries so that you can enjoy their creative efforts. The names of the students whose entries received honorable mention are also posted online.    

High School Division

  • First Place:  Micah D. Long, Pennsylvania AP Homeschoolers Online Classes, Kittanning, PA
  • Second Place:  Sarah C. Richman, Pennsylvania AP Homeschoolers Online Classes, Kittanning, PA
  • Third Place:  Kathryn G. Kowalski, E. C. Glass High School, Lynchburg, VA

College/University Division 

  • First Place:  Sarah C. Nodell, Palm Beach Atlantic University, West Palm Beach, FL
  • Second Place:  Mackenzie A. Broderick, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL (Mackenzie is a repeat winner; she won first prize in 2013 in the High School Division.)
  • Third Place:  Julia B. Robben, Ball State University, Muncie, IN

 Graduate School Division    

  • First Place:  Elizabeth Gilliland, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Second Place:  Margaret T. Ferguson, Emerson College, Boston, MA
  • Third Place:  Karin M. Manley, Georgia Tech, Atlanta, GA

First-place winners will receive a $1,000 scholarship and have been invited to attend the 2017 AGM in Huntington Beach, CA, in October. JASNA provides complimentary registration and two free nights in the conference hotel. The second- and third-place winners in each division will receive $500 and $250 scholarships, respectively. In addition, all winners and their mentors will receive a one-year JASNA membership, and each winner will receive a set of Norton Critical Editions of Jane Austen's novels. 

Many thanks to all the participants and judges, and congratulations to the winners for their fine work!