Home ›   |   About JASNA ›   |   The JASNA Post ›   |   2018 Essay Contest Winners Selected

2018 Essay Contest
Winners Selected

August 5, 2018

2018 Essay Contest<br>Winners Selected</br>

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 JASNA Essay Contest, an annual event open to high school, college/university, and graduate school students worldwide.

The entries were evaluated in two rounds by 30 judges, and the top 3 essays in each division were selected for scholarship awards. This year's winners are listed below, and their essays are posted in the Publications section of this site under Essay Contest Winning Entries so that you can enjoy their creative efforts. The names of the students whose entries received honorable mention are also posted online.    

High School Division

  • First Place:  Monica Colon, Waco, TX
  • Second Place:  Beätrice C. Crist, Pennsylvania AP Homeschoolers Online Courses
  • Third Place:  Kathryn G. Kowalski, Lynchburg, VA

College/University Division 

  • First Place:  Katherine A. Avery, The College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, VA
  • Second Place:  Fatma Shahin, University of Toronto (St. George), Toronto, ON
  • Third Place:  Rachel Zimmerman, Houghton College, Houghton, NY

 Graduate School Division    

  • First Place:  Jennifer E. Tinonga, University of California, Davis, CA
  • Second Place:  Leta M. Sundet, University of Dallas, Irving, TX
  • Third Place:  Annie L. Lewkowicz, University of Philosophical Research, Los Angeles, CA

First-place winners will receive a $1,000 scholarship and have been invited to attend the 2018 AGM in Kansas City, MO, in September. JASNA provides complimentary registration and two free nights in the conference hotel. The second- and third-place winners in each division will receive $500 and $250 scholarships, respectively. In addition, all winners and their mentors will receive a one-year JASNA membership, and each winner will receive a set of Norton Critical Editions of Jane Austen's novels. 

Many thanks to all the participants and judges, and congratulations to the winners for their excellent work!