Jane Austen’s Works

Jane Austen Jane Austen wrote six novels, which continue to captivate readers almost 200 years after her death: Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Emma, and Persuasion.  The novels, as well as her juvenilia and unfinished works, are available in numerous modern editions.  Jane Austen’s Fiction Manuscripts Digital Edition provides facsimiles of all of her surviving manuscripts.  Her collected letters are published by Oxford University Press, The Letters of Jane Austen, edited by Deirdre Le Faye (2011).

All essays and book reviews on this web site about Austen and her writing can be searched online.  Maps of real and fictional places in Austen’s novels are posted on this site.  Searchable e-texts of the six novels, Lady Susan, Love and Freindship, and The Watsons are available on this link.

The following is a chronology of Austen’s writing and the publication of her novels through 1817, the year she died.

Chronology of Austen’s Works

c. 1787-1793 Short works, collectively called the Juvenilia, written.
c. 1794 Lady Susan written, but without a conclusion.
c. 1795 “Elinor and Marianne” written (later revised as Sense and Sensibility).
1796 “First Impressions” begun (later revised as Pride and Prejudice).
1797 “First Impressions” completed and offered by Austen’s father to a publisher, but rejected sight unseen.
c. 1798-1799 “Susan” written (later retitled “Catherine” and posthumously published as Northanger Abbey).
1803 “Susan” sold to a publisher, but never published.
c. 1804 The Watsons begun but not finished.
1805 Lady Susan completed.
1810 Sense and Sensibility accepted for publication.
1811 Sense and Sensibility published.
Extensive revision of “First Impressions” as Pride and Prejudice begun.
Mansfield Park begun.
1812 Pride and Prejudice purchased by publisher.
1813 Pride and Prejudice published.
Mansfield Park completed and accepted for publication.
Second editions of Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility published.
1814 Mansfield Park published.
Emma begun.
1815 Emma completed and published (1816 shown on title page).
Persuasion begun.
1816 Persuasion completed.
“Susan” repurchased from publisher and revised as “Catherine.”
Second edition of Mansfield Park published.
1817 Sanditon begun but not finished.
Northanger Abbey and Persuasion published together posthumously with “Biographical Notice” by Henry Austen (1818 shown on title page).